On May 8, 2002 the First Annual General Meeting of the Ontario Association of

College and University Security Administrators was held. Founding members included Mark Tinlin, University of Western Ontario; Howard Pearce, Queens University; Yvon McNicol, University of Ottawa; Tony Morgan, Algonquin College and Al MacKenzie, University of Waterloo.

As with any new organization, it was not clear sailing getting OACUSA started. There were a few who expressed concerns about formalizing a group and debated whether or not colleges should be included. However, perseverance paid off. As the group started working through issues and developing the constitution, other institutions joined in including York University, University of Windsor, Brock University, Laurentian University, University of Toronto, Sheridan College and Seneca College.

The mission statement was, “The Ontario Association of College and University Security Administrators strives to promote a safe secure learning and working environment and to enhance the safety of person and security of property at Ontario Colleges and Universities. The Association will provide a forum for communication, cooperation and information exchange on all matters related to community safety and security on member campuses.”

Through the years, OACUSA has continued to grow. Today there are 112 Institutional and Associate members representing 38 Ontario colleges and universities. An annual conferences is hosted at member institutions in the spring each year. The conference offers our members an opportunity to share their knowledge, network with one another and hear guest speakers on current and relevant topics.

Past Presidents:

  • 2014 – 2016  Steve Bernique, University of Ottawa
  • 2012 – 2014  Terry Sullivan, McMaster
  • 2010 – 2012  Terry Sullivan, McMaster
  • 2008 – 2010  Rod Curran, Wilfrid Laurier
  • 2006 – 2008  Rod Curran, Wilfrid Laurier
  • 2004 – 2006  Bob Cowper, Windsor
  • 2002 – 2004   Louise Fish, Queens